A1 Horizon with Intelliquilter computerised system and working on my sisters quilt

In March Tracy Browning visited with us to deliver two days of intensive training on how to use my new A1 Horizon with Intelliquilter computerised system.  It was a whirlwind if information sharing combined with tips and techniques that was simply amazing to someone who was a self declared freehand quilter.  With the new digital system and the availablity of literally thousands of designs ready to download at the click of a mouse button, I must say it has been a very exciting few months.  I have neglected my blogging unfortunately, but  intend on picking up where I left off.  I seemed to have a good supply of charity quilts to practise on and that was such a bonus as I’m sure there will be some very happy recipients from my adventures with seemingly unlimited pattern choices.  The A1 has exceeded all my expectations.  I have also met another local longarmer (Liz) and we have fun “playdates” together when time allows, we exchanged ideas and experiences and it’s wonderful to find a kindred spirit to share the ups and downs of longarm quilting with.  Liz is meticulous in her design layouts, and is  always ready to provide support and humour when I most need it. 

My sister has arrived after an extensive wait, she has been battling breast cancer and is ready to have some quality time together finishing a quilt top she started late last year, so hope to be able to share some pictures of the progress of quilting her beautiful Butterfly Kisses.  So many girls I know have faced breast cancer, and it certainly makes us more aware to do the things we enjoy with people we love and care about, and of course quilting is such a nurturing journey to share together. 

The workshops continue, focusing on fun stuff like binding techniques and making gorgeous handbags with lots of bling, such fun to share with the girls, how much fun can you have in one day?

 

About 2010quilts

I am a longarm quilter, quilt designer, and producer of hand dyed fabric.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

