Bali batiks with red thread

Bali batiks are frivolously colourful and such fun to play with.  The only thing Karen said about the quilting was; “I want red thread”.   Mmmm, now that’s challenging. Don’t get me wrong Karen has an eye for colour that I have a great respect for, she selects colour combinations that I would never dream possible.  I couldn’t see the effect red thread would have for quilting batiks, but she could, and isn’t it stunning?  At first I was a bit hesitant and freehand quilted all the red background first, just to see how it would look (read safe), and then I did some curly circles in the plain squares and left the very small rectangle blocks plain.  I love the way it looks, it’s cheerful, light-hearted and definitely fun.

About 2010quilts

I am a longarm quilter, quilt designer, and producer of hand dyed fabric.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

