2009 Fraser Coast Show entry, First place and Champion quilt

This quilt was a commission for Pipsqueek web designs.  I designed and constructed it using gorgeous Robert Kaufman oriental fabrics with gold accents on a simple neutral background pattern.  I love star quilts and enjoyed the challenge of drafting the tumbling feathered star featured in the centre with 209 pieces in all.  A large feather wreath with trapunto in the plain borders really set it off, and micro stipple including 1/4″ lines on either side of the feathers.  The trapunto was certainly an experience as I was at home enjoying being flooded in for a few days and wanted to use the enforced isolation to advantage.  I designed and marked the feather design with water soluble pen and loaded it straight on the machine to quilt in water soluble thread.  Then came the trimming, it took hours but I was excited by how great it looked at this early stage.  During the trimming I noticed that the soluble pen was fading quickly due to the high humidity.  Oh no!!!  The design, marking and trimming had taken me all day and I wasn’t going to let the weather ruin my efforts, so I loaded the quilt again and got right to work on the feather quilting having to guess quite a lot of where I needed to draw with thread.  It certainly was a challenge, and a very good lesson was learned, DON’T mark trapunto designs during rainy weather, I still laugh thinking about how quickly those marks disappeared.  I entered this quilt in the 2009 Fraser Coast Show and won First place in my class, overall Grand Champion quilt and Encouragement Award from Queensland Quilters. 

About 2010quilts

I am a longarm quilter, quilt designer, and producer of hand dyed fabric.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

