Hello world!

I began quilting from a very humble beginning.  I had bought a book of curtain fabric from a remnants bin back in the 1990’s.  Looking back on it, they where ghastly fabrics, but I had found a “bargain” and wanted to make something useful with them.  There were no rotary cutters or quilters rulers involved back then, just a school ruler, pencil and scissors.  I sewed them all together in seams that were far from equal, then though about what was the next step.  My sister in law and I got together and laid it out on the floor, and we used sewing pins to keep the top more or less on the batting, which was another remnant, a motel bedspread in burnt orange, a colour that still makes me cringe today, and a bed sheet as backing.  The sewing machine was put in the middle of the kitchen table, I pushed it , while Sandi pulled it using a zig zag stitch.  We got it finished.   I still have that “quilt” today, it is awful, out of shape, puckered and buckled but I love it’s faded charm as that was the beginning of my love for quilts.  I have made a lot of quilts, and used to quilt them on my domestic machine.  It was exhausting work, and eventually my shoulders became unbearably painful, and I had to think about what was next as I really couldn’t continue this way.  I found a longarm quilter to finish a quilt I had made for my neice Elissa, and for her enjoyment, put it in the 2007 Maryborough Show where it placed a modest 3rd.  That was it, I was totally hooked.  By the end of that year I had bought my own brand new longarm machine.  I was so excited.  I spent months practicing on anything I could get my hands on.  The local charities were kind enough to provide me with quilts to finish for them, it was win-win for all involved.   I absolutely love what I do, and a day spent quilting is a good day.  My husband Bill is very forgiving, and doesn’t complain too loudly when he has leftovers for a couple of days in a row as I’m glued to my longarm trying to get something finished, or walk around the house mumbling like a zombie when I am creating a new project and cannot hear what he is saying to me, or I want to endlessly talk about new quilting ideas.  I hope you enjoy sharing my quilt pictures and stories.  I have included a link to my website, it is about to get a revamp as it a little bit tired, but hope it gives some creative ideas.  Lisa. 

The link to my website is; http://quickquilt.com.au/

About 2010quilts

I am a longarm quilter, quilt designer, and producer of hand dyed fabric.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Hello world!

  1. Mr WordPress says:

    Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

Leave a Reply

